Sexual abuse is a serious crime in Arizona. If you have been accused of sexual abuse of an adult or a minor, please contact the Phoenix sexual abuse defense attorneys at AZ Defenders for a free consultation to discuss your case.
Our team of talented Phoenix criminal lawyers have years of expertise to help you avoid charges that could impact your life permanently.
Sexual abuse is defined as direct or indirect touching, fondling, or manipulating by any part of the body or by any object without the person’s consent. This is sometimes also considered sexual violence, wherein a person is forced or manipulated into sexual acts without their consent.
As with many sex crimes, the penalties for Sexual Abuse vary based on the age of the victim. If the victim is 15 or older, then Sexual Abuse is a Class 5 Felony in Arizona. If convicted, you face between 0.5 years and 2.5 years in prison, fines of up to $150,000 plus surcharges, and lifetime probation. If the victim is between 15 and 17 years old, then the Court must require you to register as a sex offender for life upon conviction. If the victim is 18 or older, then registration as a sex offender is up to the judge.
If the victim is younger than 15, the punishment is substantially harsher. Sexual Abuse of a minor younger than 15 is a Class 3 Felony. If convicted, you face 2.5 to 7.5 years in prison, a fine of up to $150,000 plus surcharges, and lifetime probation. The Court must require you to register as a sex offender if convicted.
Sexual Abuse, regardless of the age of the victim, is an offense that carries with it a lifetime of consequences, from the stain of a felony conviction, to potential registration as a sex offender. The consequences are many and serious. Our Phoenix sexual abuse defense lawyers will do everything we can to ensure you don’t face consequences.
Statistics from RAINN suggest that sexual abuse is a frequent occurrence in the United States. According to their data, an American is sexual assaulted ever 92 seconds. 1 out of every 6 women has been the victim of attempted or completed rape in her lifetime, and 9 out of every 10 rape victims are female.
Data from Child Protective Services suggests 63,000 children are the victims of sexual abuse per year.
Of the sexual abuse that occurs, 55% of these crimes are committed at or near the victim’s home. This data shows the prevalence of child abuse and the scope of sexual abuse in marriage, also considered a type of domestic violence.
The Statute of Limitations is the amount of time a victim has after the crime is committed before they can no longer press charges. These statutes vary widely from state to state.
In Arizona, Statute of Limitations laws are as follows:
The standard personal injury statute of limitations applies to civil sex abuse lawsuits in Arizona. In these cases, a victim is seeking monetary compensation for the alleged crime. These sexual abuse claims must be filed within two years of the act, or within two years of the victims 18th birthday (in cases of childhood sex abuse).
If the sexual abuse occurs at a workplace, the victim also has the option of pursuing a sexual harassment claim in court.
In Arizona, this is not a statute of limitations for violent sexual abuse or sexual assault involving a child under the age of 15. In these cases, the victim is legally allowed to file criminal charges with law enforcement at any time after the crime is committed, with no expiration date.
If these charges are filed, authorities will investigate the claim and a prosecutor may file charges against the alleged abuser.
Do not face a charge of Sexual Abuse without speaking to lawyers experienced and knowledgeable in defending sex cases in aggressive and effective ways. The Phoenix defense lawyers at AZ Defenders have the skill set necessary to preserve your rights, freedom, and record. Contact us today at (480)456-6400 or online for a free consultation.