Sex Offender Registration

What Crimes Can I Be Required to Register As a Sex Offender for?

The sex offender registry is a lifetime scarlet letter than people convicted of certain crimes carry with them.  Currently, with one exception for certain minors, there is no way to be removed from the sex offender registry.  Once a court orders you to register it is a lifetime requirement that carries with it stigma, embarrassment, and potential criminal liability.

Given the requirements of sex offender registration it is important to know what crimes can require registration.  Arizona law splits registration eligible crimes into two categories: (1) those that require registration, and (2) those in which the judge has discretion to require registration.

Mandatory Registration

A.R.S. § 13-3821 provides a list of mandatory registration crimes in which a judge is required to impose sex offender registration.  These crimes include:

  • Sexual Abuse of a Child, provided the child is 17 years old or younger
  • Sexual Conduct with a Minor
  • Attempted Sexual Conduct with a Minor
  • Sexual Assault
  • Attempted Sexual Assault
  • Molestation of a Child
  • Attempted Molestation of a Child
  • Child Sex Trafficking
  • Child Prostitution, provided the child is 17 years old or younger
  • Attempted Child Prostitution, provided the child is 17 years old or younger
  • Taking a Minor for Prostitution
  • Attempted Taking a Minor for Prostitution
  • Unlawful Age Misrepresentation
  • Luring a Minor
  • Attempted Luring of a Minor
  • Aggravated Luring of a Minor
  • Unlawful Imprisonment of a minor, provided the defendant is not the child’s parent
  • Kidnapping of a minor, provided the defendant is not the child’s parent
  • A second or subsequent violation of indecent exposure to a person 15 years of age or younger
  • A third or subsequent violation of Indecent Exposure
  • A second or subsequent violation of Public Sexual Indecency to a person 15 years of age or younger
  • A third or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency
  • Sexual Extortion if the victim is 15 years of age or younger
  • Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child

If you are convicted of any of these crimes, whether by trial or by plea, then you must register as a sex offender for life

Discretionary Registration

The following crimes allow, but do not require, a judge to impose sex offender registration:

  • Sexual Abuse of a person 18 years of age or older
  • Indecent Exposure
  • Public Sexual Indecency
  • Child Prostitution if the child is 15 years of age or older
  • Attempted Child Prostitution if the child is 15 years of age or older
  • Any offense listed in chapters 14 or 35.1 of Title 13 of the Arizona Revised Statutes
  • Any offense in which there is a finding of sexual motivation pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-118

Get Representation Today

If you have been arrested and believe you face sex offender registration it is imperative to get legal representation as quickly as possible.  Sex offender registration is a life changing requirement that affects every facet of your life, and is not something you should face without sound and aggressive representation.  Call the AZ Defenders today or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.  The sooner you get in touch, the sooner we can help.

 

Free Consultation

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.