Endangerment

What does it mean to be charged with Endangerment in Arizona?  It means that you potentially face a Class 6 felony or a Class 1 Misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances of the case, and the serious consequences that can come with a conviction.

What is Endangerment?

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1201, to be convicted of Endangerment, you must be found to recklessly endanger another person with a substantial risk of imminent death or physical injury.  If the risk is of imminent death, then Endangerment is a Class 6 Felony.  If it is of physical injury, then it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.

Endangerment can result from a variety of conduct, be it driving aggressively and too fast, inappropriately handling dangerous materials, or driving under the influence.  It is the kind of offense which can be found in many fact patterns, and so requires critical analysis on the part of your lawyer to defend.

What are the penalties for an Endangerment Conviction?

of If you are convicted of a Class 6 Felony Endangerment and you have no prior felony convictions, you can be sentenced to prison for between 4 months and 2 years, or you may be placed on probation for up to 3 years.  Having prior felony convictions increases the amount of time you will receive in prison and makes you ineligible for probation.  Apart from prison and probation, a felony conviction carries with it the loss of your civil rights, right to possess a firearm, and other secondary consequences like loss of licenses, loans, and home.

If you are convicted of a Class 1 Misdemeanor Endangerment, then you face a maximum of 6 months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine.  You can be placed on probation for up to 3 years.  As with the felony, a conviction in Arizona is forever and cannot be expunged.

What should I do if I am facing an Endangerment Charge?

Should you be charged with Endangerment, you need an attorney on your side who is able to aggressively and expertly defend an Endangerment case.  With so many permutations, Endangerment truly is a charge unlike any other in Arizona.  Don’t face that charge on your own.  Call the attorneys at AZ Defenders today by calling 480-456-6400 or contact us online for a free consultation today.

Free Consultation

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.