The crime of Disorderly Conduct in Arizona, criminalized by Arizona Revised Statues § 13-2904, is what most people think of as “disturbing the peace.” You commit Disorderly Conduct if, with the intent to disturb the peace or quiet of a neighborhood, family, or person, or with the knowledge of doing so, you do any of the following:
If you commit Disorderly Conduct in Phoenix by recklessly handling, displaying, or discharging a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument, then it is a Class 6 Felony. If convicted, you face 4 months to 2 years in prison, up to 3 years of probation, a fine of up to $150,000, and a felony conviction on your record. Moreover, the prosecution may choose to charge such an offense as a “Dangerous” offense. If it does so, you face a mandatory prison sentence of 1.5 to 3 years and are ineligible for probation if convicted. A Phoenix firearm crimes defense lawyer will be an invaluable asset during such a case.
All other forms of Disorderly Conduct are Class 1 Misdemeanors. A Class 1 Misdemeanor carries a maximum jail sentence of 6 months, a maximum fine of $2,500, and up to 3 years of probation.
Every Disorderly Conduct case is different and requires an individualized approach. The Phoenix criminal defense attorneys at AZ Defenders have the knowledge, skills, and experience to help you achieve the best possible result in your Disorderly Conduct case and will tailor a defense strategy best suited to achieve that result. Contact us today by calling 480-456-6400 or reach out online and schedule a free consultation today.