Phoenix Drug Sales Defense Lawyer

In Arizona, conviction on a drug sale crime can have very serious consequences. Penalties may include lengthy probation, expensive fines, jail, or prison time. Contact AZ Defenders right away if you have been arrested or charged with a drug sales crime. Our Phoenix criminal defense lawyers have decades of experience and a history of success in obtaining the best possible outcome in drug crime cases, including case dismissal, acquittals, reduced charges, and probation.

Why Choose AZ Defenders?

  • Our Phoenix drug sales defense attorneys are respected in the legal community and well-acquainted with the prosecutors, which gives us insight into the state’s approach to your case.
  • We are one of the most aggressive and dedicated criminal defense firms in the country. You can rely on us to do everything possible to secure the most favorable results.
  • We have extensive experience and a history of success representing clients in the criminal justice system.

Possession for Personal Use vs. Sale of Drugs

Proposition 200 shields people in Arizona with no prior criminal history from jail or prison sentences in first and often second convictions for simple possession of drugs, with the exception of methamphetamine. However, in drug sales crime convictions, Proposition 200 does not apply. Most people convicted of this type of crime serve mandatory prison sentences, even in the case of a first offense.

Factors in Drug Sales Charges

Criminal charges involving drug sales are based on one or both of the following:

  • Evidence of intent to sell: When a person was in possession of drugs, the prosecutor may show intent to sell based on that person’s admissions or circumstantial evidence, such as scales, large amounts of cash, drug packaging materials, recorded phone conversations or texts regarding drug sales, or transactions with undercover agents.
  • Quantity of drugs: If the quantity of drugs in a person’s possession exceeds the statutory threshold (the amount set by law for a particular drug), that person may be charged with a drug sales crime.

Statutory Thresholds under Arizona Law

For possession of drugs in quantities above the statutory threshold, you could be charged with a drug sales crime and face a mandatory minimum prison term, even for a first offense. Under Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-3401(36), statutory thresholds are established as:

  • Marijuana – two pounds
  • Heroin – one gram
  • Cocaine – nine grams
  • Crack – 750 milligrams
  • PCP – four grams or 50 milliliters (liquid)
  • Methamphetamine/amphetamine – nine grams
  • LSD – 50 dosage units (blotter form) or one-half milliliter (liquid form)

Penalties for Drug Sales Crimes

Possession of drugs for sale and transportation of drugs for sale are felony charges in Arizona.

  • For a first offense below the statutory threshold, penalties may include one to 12.5 years of incarceration.
  • Conviction of a first offense above the statutory threshold carries a mandatory prison term of three to 12.5 years.
  • For a second offense (whether above or below threshold), the defendant faces a prison term of up to 23.25 years.
  • For a third offense, the maximum prison term 25 years.

Get In Touch with Our Firm

If you are facing drug sales charges in Arizona, it is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Call AZ Defenders to schedule a free consultation. Our Phoenix lawyers will find every weakness in the evidence against you and use it to strengthen your case. We will fight aggressively for your rights in court, using every available defense to obtain the most favorable outcome possible.

Free Consultation

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.