Arizona law prohibits the possession or consumption of alcohol by anyone under the age of 21. Although it may seem shocking, a violation of either of these laws is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, and a conviction can lead to serious consequences including a maximum jail term of 180 days, a fine of up to $2,500, and up to 3 years of probation. The Arizona minor in possession attorneys at AZ Defenders can help you evaluate your legal options and shape a strong defense for your case.
Arizona Revised Statute § 4-244(9) makes it unlawful for “a person under the legal drinking age to buy, receive, have in the person’s possession or consume spirituous liquor.”
The mere possession of a bottle of alcoholic beverage by a person under the age of 21 is a crime under this statute.
Arizona Revised Statutes § 4-244(41) makes it unlawful for a person under 21 “to have in the person’s body any spirituous liquor.”
Consumption, therefore, of any amount, is criminalized. Unlike in many other cases involving alcohol, it is irrelevant what the Blood Alcohol Concentration was, so long as there is any alcohol present.
MIP and MIC are not minor offenses but are serious criminal charges. Arizona has no expungement process, and so a conviction can leave you or your loved one with a permanent conviction on your record, fines, and potentially jail time or probation. Don’t face those risks alone. Contact the Phoenix criminal defense attorneys at AZ Defenders today by calling 480-456-6400 or online to find out what defenses may exist in your particular case.