Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1410(A), a person commits Molestation of a Child by intentionally or knowingly engaging in or causing a person to engage in sexual contact, except for sexual contact with the female breast, with a child who is under 15 years of age. This is a serious crime in Arizona with strict penalties that could change your life forever. If you’ve been accused, contact our Phoenix child molestation defense attorneys immediately.
Facing criminal charges for an offense as serious as child molestation can be extremely stressful and frustrating. We understand what you’re going through at AZ Defenders and are here to provide high-quality defense services. Hiring a child molestation defense attorney in Phoenix can come with many benefits and advantages for you as a client, including:
Contact a criminal defense lawyer near you as soon as possible after being arrested for molestation of a child. It is important to act immediately, even before your arraignment hearing, for optimal legal protection. Your attorney can provide counsel, advice and guidance from the very beginning to craft a stronger defense overall.
Sexual molestation and child molestation crimes carry significant, life altering charges if convicted. In the state of Arizona, these crimes are taken very seriously. According to Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1410, the crime of child molestation is defined as knowingly or intentionally engaging in sexual contact with a child under the age of 15. This can refer to many different acts, including fondling, touching, exhibitionism, voyeurism, penetration, rape and statutory rape.
“Sexual contact” is defined by Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1401(A)(3) as any direct or indirect touching, fondling, or manipulating of any part of the genitals, anus, or female beast by any part of the body or by an object or causing a person to engage in such contact. Under Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1404, it is considered child abuse (not molestation of a child) to engage in sexual contact with a person under 15 years of age if the contact involves only the female breast.
Arizona also has a crime known as sexual exploitation of a child under Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-3553. This law makes it a crime to knowingly record, film, photograph, develop or duplicate any visual depiction of a minor engaged in sexual conduct or exploitative exhibition. It is also against the law to distribute, sell, purchase, possess or electronically transmit this material. This crime is a Class 2 Felony if the minor is under the age of 15.
Molestation of a Child is a class two felony that is punishable pursuant to the Dangerous Crimes Against Children statute, Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-1410, and if you are convicted you face between 10 and 24 calendar years in prison. A calendar year is “flat time,” meaning that you are not eligible for release before you serve every day of the sentence. Probation is not possible if you are convicted of Molestation of a Child
If you are convicted of Molestation of a Child then you will also be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. This means your name will be added to the Arizona Sex Offender Registry, where it will remain visible to the public. Once you are on this list, you will have special requirements and restrictions, including rules about where you can live. You will also be disqualified from jobs involving children.
When you are potentially facing a huge prison sentence and registration as a sex offender, you should be represented by attorneys with the knowledge and experience to defend your Molestation of a Child case. The Phoenix criminal defense attorneys at AZ Defenders will aggressively and effectively find any weakness in the government’s case against you and utilize the best defenses to ensure the best possible outcome for you. Every criminal case is different, especially so when a sex crime is charged, but some defenses that AZ Defenders have successfully used to defend our clients include:
You shouldn’t face spending a large amount of time in prison and registration as a sex offender without speaking with the Phoenix child molestation defense attorneys at AZ Defenders to figure out how to best defend your Molestation of a Child case.
If you or a loved one has recently been accused of child molestation, child sexual abuse, exploitation of a child, child pornography or other sex crimes involving minors, contact AZ Defenders without delay. Our child molestation defense attorneys in Phoenix can help you understand your rights and protect them during this difficult time. With so much at stake, trust your case in the hands of experienced trial lawyers who will have your best interests in mind from the start. Request a free case evaluation today by calling (480) 680-7217 or contacting us online 24/7.