Being accused of child abuse can turn your life upside down. If you are facing this serious criminal charge in Scottsdale, Arizona, you need a reputable and effective criminal defense attorney. The team of attorneys at AZ Defenders can defend and protect your rights using proven legal strategies and aggressive defense tactics. It is critical to seek legal advice and representation as soon as possible if you’ve been arrested or accused of child abuse. Call (480) 568-4473 to request a free case consultation with one of our attorneys today.
To immediately access the resources at any point on this page, click the corresponding link below.
Why Hire Our Child Abuse Lawyer?
What Are Arizona’s Child Abuse Laws?
The Aftermath of Child Abuse Charges in Scottsdale
Potential Penalties for a Child Abuse Conviction
Possible Defenses to Child Abuse Charges
Statute of Limitations for Child Abuse Cases in Scottsdale
Call an Attorney Today
Child abuse is a major crime in Arizona. It is defined in Arizona Revised Statute Section 8-201(2) as inflicting or allowing a physical injury, impairment of a bodily function or disfigurement to be inflicted against a child. It is also defined as someone who has the care, custody and control of a child causing or allowing another person to cause serious emotional damage to the child, as evidenced by a diagnosable condition such as anxiety, depression, aggressive behavior or withdrawal.
Child abuse can refer to many different acts and behaviors toward a child that inflict bodily injury or emotional harm. This can include physical abuse, verbal abuse, mental or emotional abuse, sexual abuse or exploitation, child pornography, incest, abandonment, unreasonable confinement, and neglect. Failing to report knowledge of child abuse as a mandated reporter – such as a teacher or doctor – is also a chargeable crime in Scottsdale.
Being accused of child abuse is something that you need to take seriously. This accusation can have a domino effect on many other aspects of your life, from custody of your children to your career and freedom. Here’s what to expect in the aftermath of a child abuse charge in Scottsdale:
If you are convicted of child abuse in Arizona, the sentence you face could have a major impact on your life. A felony child abuse conviction, for example, could lead to years in jail or prison, the loss of your job, and the loss of certain constitutional rights.
According to Section 13-3623 of Arizona law, any person who causes a child to suffer physical injury under circumstances likely to produce death or serious bodily injury is guilty of child abuse. The same is true if someone who has the care or custody of a child permits the health of the child to be injured or endangered. The law classifies these crimes in the following ways:
Under circumstances other than those likely to cause serious physical injury or death to a child, any person who causes injury or abuse to a child could be guilty of an offense as follows:
The potential penalties faced by someone convicted of child abuse in Scottsdale may include the loss of parental rights, time in a state prison for up to 12.5 years, a fine of up to $150,000 and up to 7 years of probation. If there are aggravating circumstances or you have prior felony convictions on your record, you could face increased penalties.
Fighting child abuse charges in Scottsdale takes a strong defense. The goal is to cast doubt on the prosecutor’s case against you, as establishing reasonable doubt will typically lead to acquittal. Your lawyer can take many steps to try to have the case against you dismissed or your charges reduced. Many potential defenses to child abuse allegations exist in Arizona, including:
Your future is at risk as someone who has been arrested for child abuse in Scottsdale. Hiring an experienced attorney is the best way to protect yourself. Your lawyer can hire expert witnesses, poke holes in the prosecutor’s case against you, exploit legal issues involved in your arrest or the collection of evidence, and boost your chances of a positive case outcome.
A law known as the statute of limitations imposes a time limit on a prosecutor’s ability to bring child abuse charges against an individual. If the statute of limitations expires, charges can no longer be brought. In Arizona, the statute of limitations on a class 2 through 6 felony is seven years from the date of the alleged crime. For a misdemeanor, the statute of limitations is one year. For petty offenses, it’s six months. Note, however, that violent crimes in Arizona typically have longer statutes of limitations, and some crimes – including murder – have no statute of limitations.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for an alleged child abuse crime in Scottsdale, Arizona, do not hesitate to contact AZ Defenders to speak to a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney near you. Our lawyers have years of experience representing clients against many different types of criminal charges, including child abuse, neglect and abandonment crimes. Call us today at (480) 568-4473 to request a free case consultation.