There are various levels of assault charges in Arizona, with the most serious being aggravated assault. I you find yourself facing such charges, seek assistance from a skilled Mesa aggravated assault attorney immediately. The team at AZ Defenders is prepared to open a meticulous investigation of your unique case. Our goal is to provide vigorous and aggressive defense on your behalf in order to get the charges reduced or dismissed altogether.
When you are facing aggravated assault charges, it is important to choose a law firm that has gained the respect of the local and statewide legal community.
Simple assault is defined in Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-1203 as 1) intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing a physical injury to another person; 2) intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or 3) knowingly touching someone else with the intent to injure, insult or provoke the person. Aggravated assault is a much more serious crime than simple assault in Arizona. As explained in Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-1204, aggravated assault charges can be filed if:
The definition of “serious physical injury” is any physical impairment or injury that puts a victim at risk of disfigurement or death. A “deadly weapon” is any object designed for lethal use (not only a firearm), while a “dangerous instrument” is one that can be used to inflict serious physical injury, even if it was not designed for this purpose. An order of protection is a court order that prohibits an individual from contacting or going near one or more named parties.
Depending on the circumstances of the crime, charges for aggravated assault can range from a Class 2 to a Class 6 felony. Penalties will depend on the type of charge, whether a dangerous weapon was used during the assault, the defendant’s criminal background, if there were serious bodily injuries or deaths, the age of the victim, and whether the victim was pregnant at the time. Prison sentences are based on the class of felony:
Being convicted of felony aggravated assault in Mesa could mean a prison sentence of anywhere from 18 months to 21 years and fines as high as $150,000. If you have a prior criminal record of dangerous felony convictions, the maximum prison sentence can be increased to 25 years. This is why it is critical to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible if you have been arrested for this crime. A lawyer will work hard to minimize the penalties that you face, such as by arguing for reduced charges or taking your defense to court.
Aggravated assault charges are serious. Police and prosecutors will use their immense resources against you, which means you need help from a Mesa criminal defense lawyer to formulate your defense. There are several possible defense strategies for these cases, including the following:
In these cases, a criminal defense attorney will have the resources and experience to mount a full defense of your case, as opposed to a public defender that handles dozens of cases at a time. You can rest easier knowing that your attorney will handle all aspects of your case.
If you get arrested for assault or aggravated assault in Mesa, try to remain calm and remember your constitutional rights. These rights can protect you and your future. They should be read to you by the arresting officer upon arrest (your “Miranda rights”). They include the right to remain silent and the right to have an attorney present.
Do not answer any questions asked by police officers until you have a criminal defense lawyer by your side. Saying the wrong thing could lead to accidental self-incrimination or give the prosecutor evidence to use against you. Do not try to contact the alleged victim. Contact an experienced assault defense attorney in Mesa as soon as possible to ensure your protection throughout the legal process.
If you or somebody you love has been charged with aggravated assault in Mesa, Arizona, do not hesitate to seek assistance from a skilled attorney immediately. At AZ Defenders, you can count on a team with vast resources and experience to be by your side. We will handle every aspect of your case and we are not afraid to stand up for your rights in the courtroom. When you need a Mesa aggravated assault attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or calling (480) 456-6400.