Tempe Minor in Possession/Minor in Consumption

Underage drinking is illegal in Arizona, and those charged with a minor in possession or a minor who has consumed alcohol could face serious legal consequences. At AZ Defenders, our knowledgeable and experienced team is ready to help if you have been charged as a minor in possession and need a skilled defense attorney in Tempe. Let us get to work investigating the evidence against you today.

Why Should You Choose AZ Defenders For This Case?

You should always take minor in possession and minor in consumption charges seriously in Tempe. At AZ Defenders, we are ready to defend your case today.

  • With more than two decades of helping defend criminal cases in Tempe, we have the experience you need to thoroughly investigate the charges against you.
  • Our lawyers are established, well-respected members of the Arizona legal community. Tempe criminal lawyer and founder Craig Rosenstein is a board member for the Arizona Justice Project, and one of only four board-certified DUI lawyers in the state.
  • We pride ourselves on offering dedicated service to each client. We understand how much is at stake for your future, and we will not back down against aggressive prosecutors.

What Are The Penalties For A Minor In Possession/Minor In Consumption Crime?

Being charged with minor in possession (A.R.S. 4-244(9)) or minor in consumption (A.R.S. 4-244(41)) can result in serious penalties.

In Arizona, a minor charged with possession of alcohol could face a class 1 misdemeanor offense. The penalties for this charge, upon conviction, could include:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A mark on your criminal record
  • More than $4,000 in fines
  • Mandatory alcohol classes or counseling
  • License suspension for those under 18 years of age
  • Up to three years of probation
  • Community service and restitution fees

A minor charged with minor in consumption will face a class 2 misdemeanor offense. Upon conviction, a person could face:

  • Up to 120 days in jail
  • More than $1,000 in fines
  • Up to two years of probation
  • Possible driver’s license suspension

In addition to the criminal penalties, a minor could face disciplinary charges from their school. Colleges take these cases very seriously and could require additional alcohol counseling or even kick a person out of school.

How Will An Attorney Help This Case?

An attorney is vitally important for these cases. In Tempe, Arizona, you do have options, and your attorney will know how to fight the charges against you. Your lawyer will look at every detail of the case and formulate a solid defense.

  • Perhaps the police officer missed a relevant detail in their paperwork or procedures.
  • It could be the case that you were the victim of mistaken identity.
  • Maybe you did not actually have any alcohol in your possession.

Your attorney will vigorously defend you through these charges and work to ensure your future remains bright.

What Can You Do Moving Forward?

Anyone charged is a minor in possession or minor in consumption of alcohol in Arizona must take the charges seriously. At AZ Defenders, you can count on a skilled defense team to thoroughly investigate the case against you and work to formulate a solid defense on your behalf. Our goal will be to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed and minimize any future repercussions for the alleged crime. You can contact our minor in possession attorney in Tempe for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or calling (480) 456-6400.

COVID-19 UPDATE: Open for business, accepting new clients and as always can be reached 24/7.
Consultations safely by phone or virtually by video now available. Get our team of attorneys working on your case immediately without risk.
Call now or contact us online.