Tempe Drug Sales

Conviction on drug sale crime in Arizona can lead to very serious consequences. Penalties can include jail or prison time, serious fines, probation, and more. If you or somebody you care about has been charged with a Tempe drug sale crime, contact the team at AZ Defenders today. We will thoroughly investigate the charges against you and work to secure the best possible outcome for your case.

Why Choose AZ Defenders For This Case

Charges for possession and distribution of drugs In Arizona are taken very seriously by law enforcement and prosecutors. That is why you need the skilled attorneys at AZ Defenders by your side.

  • We pledge to bring the full force of more than 20 years of legal experience to your side. Our firm has established itself as one of the most aggressive criminal defense firms in the country.
  • Our Tempe, AZ criminal defense attorneys offer a dedicated, client-oriented approach to every client. We take the time to get to know you and to understand the facts of your case.
  • We will not settle when unreasonable plea deals are made, and we look forward to defending your rights in the courtroom.

Understanding Drug Sale Charges In Arizona

In this state, there are three main categories of drugs: marijuana, narcotics, and other dangerous drugs. For a person to be arrested with the intention to distribute or sell drugs, there must be a certain amount of drugs in their possession. The volume that determines if a drug sale charge is appropriate is known as a statutory threshold amount. The following are some of the statutory threshold amounts under Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-3401(36):

  • Marijuana – two pounds
  • Heroin – one gram
  • Cocaine – nine grams
  • Crack – 750 milligrams
  • PCP – four grams or 50 milliliters (liquid)
  • Methamphetamine/Amphetamine – nine grams
  • LSD – 50 dosage units (blotter form) or one-half milliliter (liquid form)

Anyone who possesses drugs with the intention of sale or distribution will face a felony charge In Arizona. Under state law, the following penalties could apply for these charges:

  • Mandatory prison term of three to 12.5 years for a first offense conviction above the statutory threshold limits.
  • A Prison term of up to 23.25 years for a second offense (whether above or below threshold).
  • Up to 25 years for a third offense.

How Will An Attorney Defend This Case?

A skilled Tempe criminal defense attorney is needed for any serious drug offense in Arizona. For these charges, your attorney will thoroughly investigate the evidence against you in order to formulate a strategic defense strategy. Your attorney could work to prove that:

  • There were errors in police procedure in your case
  • The amount of drugs did not reach the statutory threshold limit
  • That you had no intention of selling any drugs
  • That any drugs found or not actually yours

What You Can Do Now

If you or a loved one have been charged with selling drugs in Arizona, do not hesitate to seek assistance from an attorney immediately. An experienced Tempe drug sale attorney will understand that it is necessary to aggressively defend drug sale charges. The goal of the team at AZ Defenders will be to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed altogether. Do not simply hand your case over to a public defender before you talk to us. You can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or calling (480) 456-6400.

COVID-19 UPDATE:We are open and accepting new clients. Consultations by phone and video now available. Get our team of attorneys working on your case immediately without risk.
Call now or contact us online.